CALENDAR     |     DIRECTIONS     |     CONTACT     |     BOOKING    |     PAST ARTISTS


Sat Jul 2 |
WOW! SIGNAL
with PORTOBELLO ROAD, HI-FI GENTRY
Sun Jul 3 |
LINCOLN ST. REVIVAL
with THE LITTLE RAVENS (ACOUSTIC), CASEY WAYNE SMITH
Tue Jul 5 |
THE SOUND OF GHOSTS
with THE THREADBARONS, THE SAMUEL EDGAR BAND
Wed Jul 6 |
THE LEISURE BOYS
with WASTELAND RADIO
Wed Jul 6 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win tickets to Wye Oak, Joy Formidable, Split Lip Rayfield and more!
Thu Jul 7 |
PITY SEX
with PWR BTTM , PETAL
Fri Jul 8 |
BRONZE (CD RELEASE)
with THROTTLEBOMB, SMOLDER & BURN, FALSE CATHEDRALS
Fri Jul 8 |
SCHOOL DANCE
Sat Jul 9 |
MARISSA NADLER
with WREKMEISTER HARMONIES, MUSCLE AND MARROW
Sun Jul 10 |
BIG ROCK RADIO
with SMITHS GROVE
Mon Jul 11 |
LITTLE TYBEE
with HOLLY LOVELL, NATHAN CAHOONE
Tue Jul 12 |
PAUL CAUTHEN
with MANY MOUNTAINS, LARRY NIX
Wed Jul 13 |
ROONEY
with NEW BEAT FUND, P O P F I L T E R
Thu Jul 14 |
MAX PAIN AND THE GROOVIES
with BEST CREEPS, CHOCOLATE DIAMOND
Fri Jul 15 |
THE PEACH KINGS
Sat Jul 16 |
WHISKEY SHIVERS
with Whiskey Treats, Caribou Mountain Collective
Sun Jul 17 |
CHEW
with FACIAL, SEE YOU HOME WOLF, GREGG ZIEMBA TRIO
Mon Jul 18 |
PRISM TATS
Wed Jul 20 |
HOLY GRAIL
with EXMORTUS, SPELLCASTER
Thu Jul 21 |
STEDDY P
with FAROUT, SCOTTY WU, SMOKY BARE, KIND DUB, S.T.O.I.C.
Fri Jul 22 |
C.W. STONEKING
with RL COLE, ERYN DESOMER
Sat Jul 23 |
KIIARA
with LIL AARON
Sun Jul 24 |
ROOSEVELT DIME
with THE CONSTANT TOURISTS, THE THREADBARONS
Thu Jul 28 |
PROPER SCARLET
with STASIS OF SEASONS, RACE TO NEPTUNE
Fri Jul 29 |
PIGPEN THEATRE CO.
Sat Jul 30 |
NEW MADRID
with LAST OF THE EASY RIDERS, DOVES & WOLVES
Sun Jul 31 |
LINCOLN DURHAM
Wed Aug 3 |
WILD TREES (TOUR KICK OFF)
with OVERSLEPT, WATER AEROBICS
Sat Aug 6 |
MARK SULTAN
Wed Aug 10 |
RHYME PROGRESSION
with AG FLUX, TRUE VINTAGE, FADE + BRADY HAZE, TONE ET
Thu Aug 11 |
AUGUSTINES
Thu Aug 18 |
CODY JEFFRYES (CD RELEASE)
with RADICAL ACTION, CHRIS DISMUKE
Fri Aug 19 |
VALLEY QUEEN
Fri Aug 19 |
REEVE CARNEY
with JASON KELLY (OF SIGNS AND SIGNALS)
Mon Aug 22 |
KYLE CRAFT
Wed Aug 24 |
NATHAN FOX
Sat Aug 27 |
ELVIS DEPRESSEDLY
with TEEN SUICIDE, NICOLE DOLLANGANGER
Tue Sep 6 |
MONOLORD
with BEASTMAKER, SWEAT LODGE
Wed Sep 7 |
MYSTIC BRAVES
with THE DREAM RIDE
Sun Sep 18 |
FRED & TOODY
Fri Oct 14 |
LEROY SANCHEZ
Sat Oct 22 |
FRONT COUNTRY

Fri Jun 13 | Lost Lake Presents | 21+

WILD ONES  

HILLARY HAND & THE ROSELIERS
HOLLY LOVELL
CRL CRRLL (DJ SET)

Doors open at 8 PM   |   Show starts at 9 PM   |   $10 ADV | $12 DAY OF SHOW





In late 2012, Wild Ones was on the verge of collapse. Guitarist Clayton Knapp had blown out an eardrum, the band’s original drummer left the group and his replacement, Seve Sheldon, was in the hospital with a punctured lung, practicing songs on a drum pad with a tube sticking out of his chest. The band’s members had funneled all of their money into a debut record, Keep It Safe, that had taken a year to write and nine months to record and mix. Fans and followers began to wonder if that record would ever see the light of day. It was make-or-break time. Wild Ones made. Instead of folding in the face of financial drama, injuries and personnel changes, Wild Ones took a deep breath and adjusted to its new surroundings. This band is used to adjusting. Since its formation in 2010, Wild Ones has insisted on operating as a DIY collective. The band recorded and mixed its debut as a group (with help from engineer David Pollock). Sometimes considering each members’ opinion meant endless revisits and tweaks to the album’s tracks.

The process was time-consuming, but it was also worth it. “That was a reaction to the bands we had been in before,” says lead vocalist Danielle Sullivan. “This band was born out of our desire to have a democratic, all-inclusive music-making process.” Going it alone—even the artwork on Keep It Safe was created by Wild Ones keyboardist Thomas Himes—comes with its fair share of challenges. Most of Wild Ones’ debut was recorded in a two-story East Portland warehouse rehearsal space, where the band was surrounded on all sides by rock acts like Quasi and the Thermals. Wild Ones would get to their practice space around 8 am to record, often grabbing quick takes between thunderous drum solos from down the hall. “Somewhere on the record, if you listen close enough, you can probably hear the metal band next door,” Himes says.

“When we went in that room in March, it was raining,” says Knapp. “When we finished recording in October, it was raining.” Keep It Safe, the album that finally emerged after well over a year of gestation, is bigger than the sum of its meticulously gathered parts. Even now, the band’s sound continues to evolve. Wild Ones’ members come from vastly disparate musical backgrounds—guitarist Nick Vicario was a Portland punk icon long before he turned 18; bassist Max Stein is a classical composer—and all of their experiences inform pop music that is influenced by everything from german techno to American R&B. These are sounds that don’t usually come packaged together, but in the able hands of Wild Ones, they seem like a perfectly natural fit.
 

powered by: companyBE