CALENDAR      |      DIRECTIONS      |      CONTACT      |      HAPPY HOUR      |      BOOKING     |      PAST ARTISTS  


Fri Dec 26 |
DAWN OF THE SHRED
Sat Dec 27 |
PATTI FIASCO
with RYAN CHRYS & THE ROUGH CUTS, HOLLY LOVELL, THE LONGEST DAY OF THE YEAR
Sun Dec 28 |
BRONCOS VS. RAIDERS
Sun Dec 28 |
INFINITY BABES
with CHURCH FIRE, KYLE SIMMONS, BEN KELLOGG
Mon Dec 29 |
THE COOL BUTTS EVENING FEATURING DJ SETS FROM
with LORD SCIENCE, COLIN FOY, TIM SISK
Wed Dec 31 |
DRAGONDEER NYE
with TURNER JACKSON, THE CROOKED STREETS, SPECIAL GUEST TBA!
Fri Jan 2 |
DEATH FOR BREAKFAST
with FLOOD OF SOULS, GOMORRAH, SEREN, COMPANION TO THE EMPEROR
Sat Jan 3 |
TRANSVERSE WAVES
with SPELLBINDER & THE MILE HIGH MUSIC MAYKAS, MONO VERDE, GIVERS GAIN
Sun Jan 4 |
DR DEATH + MR VILE
with SEVERAL CROWDED GHOST, PARASITE CORE, STASIS OF SEASONS, ENTROPIC ADVANCE
Wed Jan 7 |
THE SYMBOLS
with SONDER, JOEL KACHEL
Thu Jan 8 |
CLOUD GAVIN
with MILES TO MOUNTAINS, LEFTMORE, LUCIDA TELA
Fri Jan 9 |
MONDO VIBRATIONS
with SPECIAL GUESTS TBA!
Sat Jan 10 |
QUANTUM CREEP
with KISSING PARTY, THE SOUND AND COLOR, 9 VOLT FATALE
Sun Jan 11 |
EDGE OF PARADISE
with YOUR OWN MEDICINE, BEYOND INFLUENCE, TORCH THE WAGON
Wed Jan 14 |
RIMES
with TRAVELLERS MUSIC, NEWCE, EV VINYLS, SIMPLE STEVEN, PDF, TEVON BROWN
Thu Jan 15 |
SMOKY BARE
with ROB4REAL, UTICA, MOA, DEALZ MAKES BEATS
Fri Jan 16 |
SF1
with HR PEOPLE, GRIM&DARLING, OLD SOUL ERA, KAYLA MARQUE
Sat Jan 17 |
FORTY-FIVE PLUS ONE + ALF'S 45TH BIRTHDAY!
Sun Jan 18 |
ROBBY WICKS BAND
with HENRY WADE BAND, ZEA & THE COPPER CHILDREN
Wed Jan 21 |
FREAKABOUT
Fri Jan 23 |
THE HEARD
Sat Jan 24 |
SOLE + DJ PAIN
with INPUT + BROKEN, REASON THE CITIZEN
Sun Jan 25 |
IN TRANSITION
with THROUGH THE MOUNTAIN, ELECTRIC SAMMY
Fri Jan 30 |
RANDOM A.K.A. MEGA RAN
Fri Jan 30 |
HOLY GHOST!
Mon Feb 9 |
KARMA TO BURN
with SIERRA
Wed Feb 11 |
THE SUFFERS

Fri Jun 13 | Lost Lake Presents | 21+

WILD ONES  

HILLARY HAND & THE ROSELIERS
HOLLY LOVELL
CRL CRRLL (DJ SET)

Doors open at 8 PM   |   Show starts at 9 PM   |   $10 ADV | $12 DAY OF SHOW





In late 2012, Wild Ones was on the verge of collapse. Guitarist Clayton Knapp had blown out an eardrum, the band’s original drummer left the group and his replacement, Seve Sheldon, was in the hospital with a punctured lung, practicing songs on a drum pad with a tube sticking out of his chest. The band’s members had funneled all of their money into a debut record, Keep It Safe, that had taken a year to write and nine months to record and mix. Fans and followers began to wonder if that record would ever see the light of day. It was make-or-break time. Wild Ones made. Instead of folding in the face of financial drama, injuries and personnel changes, Wild Ones took a deep breath and adjusted to its new surroundings. This band is used to adjusting. Since its formation in 2010, Wild Ones has insisted on operating as a DIY collective. The band recorded and mixed its debut as a group (with help from engineer David Pollock). Sometimes considering each members’ opinion meant endless revisits and tweaks to the album’s tracks.

The process was time-consuming, but it was also worth it. “That was a reaction to the bands we had been in before,” says lead vocalist Danielle Sullivan. “This band was born out of our desire to have a democratic, all-inclusive music-making process.” Going it alone—even the artwork on Keep It Safe was created by Wild Ones keyboardist Thomas Himes—comes with its fair share of challenges. Most of Wild Ones’ debut was recorded in a two-story East Portland warehouse rehearsal space, where the band was surrounded on all sides by rock acts like Quasi and the Thermals. Wild Ones would get to their practice space around 8 am to record, often grabbing quick takes between thunderous drum solos from down the hall. “Somewhere on the record, if you listen close enough, you can probably hear the metal band next door,” Himes says.

“When we went in that room in March, it was raining,” says Knapp. “When we finished recording in October, it was raining.” Keep It Safe, the album that finally emerged after well over a year of gestation, is bigger than the sum of its meticulously gathered parts. Even now, the band’s sound continues to evolve. Wild Ones’ members come from vastly disparate musical backgrounds—guitarist Nick Vicario was a Portland punk icon long before he turned 18; bassist Max Stein is a classical composer—and all of their experiences inform pop music that is influenced by everything from german techno to American R&B. These are sounds that don’t usually come packaged together, but in the able hands of Wild Ones, they seem like a perfectly natural fit.
 

powered by: companyBE