CALENDAR     |     DIRECTIONS     |     CONTACT     |     BOOKING    |     PAST ARTISTS    |     PHOTO GALLERY


Wed Sep 28 |
GREENBEARD
with LORDS OF FUZZ, PLASTIC DAGGERS, BROTHER SISTER HEX
Wed Sep 28 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win Tix To: On Repeat, Elle King, Okkervil River, Kishi Bashi, Death From Above 1975 + Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, The Faint, Failure, Purity Ring
Thu Sep 29 |
CHRISTOPHER THE CONQUERED
with SMASHY CLAW, GLADYS
Fri Sep 30 |
WIREDOGS
with CITRA, THE HOLLOW
Sat Oct 1 |
STILL CORNERS
with SPACESUITS FOR INDIANS
Sun Oct 2 |
BOGAN VIA
with TOMMY METZ
Tue Oct 4 |
AVI BUFFALO
with DECORATIONS
Wed Oct 5 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO
with Win Tix To: Elle King, Okkervil River, Kishi Bashi, Death From Above 1975 + Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, The Faint, Failure, Purity Ring
Wed Oct 5 |
DEFRANCE
with HI-FI GENTRY, HELLO, MOUNTAIN
Thu Oct 6 |
C.W. STONEKING
with REVEREND DEADEYE, RL COLE
Fri Oct 7 |
NATURAL CHILD
with FAUX FEROCIOUS, LAST OF THE EASY RIDERS
Sat Oct 8 |
NATURAL CHILD
with FAUX FEROCIOUS, BAD LICKS
Sun Oct 9 |
MILE HIGH SOUL CLUB
with DJ ROB SEVIER (OF NUMBERO GROUP RECORDS)
Mon Oct 10 |
THE DIG
Thu Oct 13 |
MISS TESS & THE TALKBACKS
with LEE AVENUE, THE THREADBARONS
Fri Oct 14 |
LEROY SANCHEZ
Fri Oct 14 |
EX-CULT
Sat Oct 15 |
JON SNODGRASS (DRAG THE RIVER)
with ANDY THOMAS' DUST HEART
Sun Oct 16 |
GARRETT KLAHN (of TEXAS IS THE REASON)
with ERIC RICHTER (solo set - Christie Front Drive, Highness)
Tue Oct 18 |
CHICANO BATMAN
with SAD GIRL
Fri Oct 21 |
CAROLINE SMITH
with CALLIE
Sat Oct 22 |
ERIKA WENNERSTROM (OF HEARTLESS BASTARDS)
with BLAKE HAZARD, JONAH WISNESKI
Sat Oct 22 |
FRONT COUNTRY
with MODERN WHISKEY MARKET
Wed Oct 26 |
THE MOTH & THE FLAME
Thu Oct 27 |
FANTASTIC NEGRITO
with JOSH MOOREHEAD & THE GUESTLIST
Fri Oct 28 |
CRUSHED OUT
with BRUISER QUEEN, SUN BURN (MEMBERS OF HAIR CULT)
Sat Oct 29 |
SCREAMING FEMALES
with MOOR MOTHER
Sun Oct 30 |
PWR BTTM
with BELLOWS, LISA PRANK
Tue Nov 1 |
LA SERA
Wed Nov 2 |
RIVVRS
Thu Nov 3 |
NIK TURNER
with HEDERSLEBEN
Fri Nov 4 |
SWEATER BEATS
Tue Nov 8 |
RICKY EAT ACID
with KITTY
Thu Nov 10 |
MANGCHI
Sun Nov 13 |
CRL CRRLL - EP RELEASE PARTY
with AT.PLAY, CORBIN DALLAS, DJ LOW KEY, DJ E-TRANE, POP UP SHOW - CRISPYSZ, FOOD TRUCK - BUDDHA BAO
Fri Nov 18 |
MAX FROST
with THE YOUNG WILD, SINCLAIR
Sat Nov 19 |
THE PACK A.D.
with THE CUTTHROAT DRIFTERS, MEETING HOUSE
Sun Nov 20 |
THE DEAD SHIPS
Fri Dec 2 |
TALLGRASS
with POET'S ROW, BISON BONE
Thu Dec 15 |
MUUY BIIEN

Fri Jun 13 | Lost Lake Presents | 21+

WILD ONES  

HILLARY HAND & THE ROSELIERS
HOLLY LOVELL
CRL CRRLL (DJ SET)

Doors open at 8 PM   |   Show starts at 9 PM   |   $10 ADV | $12 DAY OF SHOW





In late 2012, Wild Ones was on the verge of collapse. Guitarist Clayton Knapp had blown out an eardrum, the band’s original drummer left the group and his replacement, Seve Sheldon, was in the hospital with a punctured lung, practicing songs on a drum pad with a tube sticking out of his chest. The band’s members had funneled all of their money into a debut record, Keep It Safe, that had taken a year to write and nine months to record and mix. Fans and followers began to wonder if that record would ever see the light of day. It was make-or-break time. Wild Ones made. Instead of folding in the face of financial drama, injuries and personnel changes, Wild Ones took a deep breath and adjusted to its new surroundings. This band is used to adjusting. Since its formation in 2010, Wild Ones has insisted on operating as a DIY collective. The band recorded and mixed its debut as a group (with help from engineer David Pollock). Sometimes considering each members’ opinion meant endless revisits and tweaks to the album’s tracks.

The process was time-consuming, but it was also worth it. “That was a reaction to the bands we had been in before,” says lead vocalist Danielle Sullivan. “This band was born out of our desire to have a democratic, all-inclusive music-making process.” Going it alone—even the artwork on Keep It Safe was created by Wild Ones keyboardist Thomas Himes—comes with its fair share of challenges. Most of Wild Ones’ debut was recorded in a two-story East Portland warehouse rehearsal space, where the band was surrounded on all sides by rock acts like Quasi and the Thermals. Wild Ones would get to their practice space around 8 am to record, often grabbing quick takes between thunderous drum solos from down the hall. “Somewhere on the record, if you listen close enough, you can probably hear the metal band next door,” Himes says.

“When we went in that room in March, it was raining,” says Knapp. “When we finished recording in October, it was raining.” Keep It Safe, the album that finally emerged after well over a year of gestation, is bigger than the sum of its meticulously gathered parts. Even now, the band’s sound continues to evolve. Wild Ones’ members come from vastly disparate musical backgrounds—guitarist Nick Vicario was a Portland punk icon long before he turned 18; bassist Max Stein is a classical composer—and all of their experiences inform pop music that is influenced by everything from german techno to American R&B. These are sounds that don’t usually come packaged together, but in the able hands of Wild Ones, they seem like a perfectly natural fit.
 

powered by: companyBE