CALENDAR      |      DIRECTIONS      |      CONTACT      |      HAPPY HOUR      |      BOOKING     |      PAST ARTISTS  


Thu Feb 26 |
HUMANS
with DJ FANCY MATTHEW, SNUBLUCK
Fri Feb 27 |
After Milo Greene...
Fri Feb 27 |
FUTUREBABES
with MT ROUÉ
Sat Feb 28 |
PANTHER MARTIN
with DRINKING WITH CHARLIE, SUPER BUMMER
Sat Feb 28 |
After Houndmouth...
Sun Mar 1 |
FRANCISCO THE MAN
with SHADY ELDERS, MALE BLONDING
Mon Mar 2 |
BRING YOUR OWN VINYL NIGHT
Tue Mar 3 |
SCHOOL DANCE
with LALA LALA, FRENCH KETTLE STATION
Wed Mar 4 |
STEDDY P
with DOM CHRONICLES, FAROUT, J BOMB, THE GREAT GRIGSBY, KIND DUB, SMOKY BARE, 3TWO
Wed Mar 4 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tix to Misterwives, Stars, The Preatures + more!
Wed Mar 4 |
CATCH LUNGS AFTER PARTY!
Thu Mar 5 |
KEVIN GARRETT
with ALBNY, NANOOK
Fri Mar 6 |
NEW MADRID
with BEST CREEPS, RIPRATS
Sat Mar 7 |
PHIL.HARMONIQ
with MELODY LINES, FLYRANT, DROPTALK
Sun Mar 8 |
NO MORE EXCUSES
with HIGH TIDE LOW TIDE, THE NEWS CAN WAIT, THE COAST IS OURS
Wed Mar 11 |
HAPPY HOUR BINGO - Win tickets to Tennis, Generationals, Temples + more!
Wed Mar 11 |
ECID
with MOONLIGHT GRAMMAR, EXTRA KOOL, MAD SCIENTISTS, SHOE (of Video Games), SHOCK AND DASH
Thu Mar 12 |
LOW CUT CONNIE
with THE GHOST OF JOSEPH BUCK, THE CUTTHROAT DRIFTERS
Fri Mar 13 |
DEEP CLUB LIVE PRESENTS:
with DREAM HIKE, LONE DANCER, OCCIDENTAL, RYAN SCANNURA, DJ DREW
Sat Mar 14 |
PUBLICIST UK
with IL CATTIVO, JOY SUBTRACTION
Sun Mar 15 |
SIGNS AND SIGNALS
with BENSON THE DOG, ZETA JUNE
Mon Mar 16 |
PEOPLE'S BLUES OF RICHMOND
Tue Mar 17 |
AVAN LAVA
with THUNDERTHIEF
Wed Mar 18 |
BRIGHT VIBES SHOWCASE FEATURING:
with FR3E, PHOCUST, JONNY GREENGO, MULATTIC, DJ GRAFFIK
Thu Mar 19 |
100 ONCES
with TRIPLIP, FACIAL
Fri Mar 20 |
COLFAX SPEED QUEEN
with SHII WHAAA, HOPE DEALERS
Sun Mar 22 |
THE TALBOTT BROTHERS
with ORBIT OK, LIAT, KIMBERLY OTTE
Tue Mar 24 |
BEN CAPLAN
with GHOST OF PAUL REVERE
Wed Mar 25 |
BEAT CONNECTION
with SHAPRECE
Fri Mar 27 |
After Hurray For The Riff Raff...
Fri Mar 27 |
VALE OF PNATH
with IT'S ALWAYS SUNNY IN TIJUANA, ANCIENT COLOSSAL, THE DAWN CHOSE ORION, OF MAN AND MACHINE
Sat Mar 28 |
After Bad Religion...
Tue Mar 31 |
ROBERT DELONG
Wed Apr 1 |
THE PREATURES
Fri Apr 3 |
RUBEDO
Sat Apr 4 |
BLACK PUSSY
with DEAD TEMPLE, CLOUD CATCHER
Fri Apr 10 |
TOMMY FREED & THE SOUND
Fri Apr 17 |
KNOX HAMILTON
Fri Apr 24 |
OK GO (DJ SET)
Fri Apr 24 |
HOWLIN' RAIN
Mon Apr 27 |
STU LARSEN
with NATSUKI KURAI
Mon May 11 |
INTER ARMA
with YAUTJA, USNEA, PRISON DEATH
Sat May 23 |
TRUE WIDOW

Fri Jun 13 | Lost Lake Presents | 21+

WILD ONES  

HILLARY HAND & THE ROSELIERS
HOLLY LOVELL
CRL CRRLL (DJ SET)

Doors open at 8 PM   |   Show starts at 9 PM   |   $10 ADV | $12 DAY OF SHOW





In late 2012, Wild Ones was on the verge of collapse. Guitarist Clayton Knapp had blown out an eardrum, the band’s original drummer left the group and his replacement, Seve Sheldon, was in the hospital with a punctured lung, practicing songs on a drum pad with a tube sticking out of his chest. The band’s members had funneled all of their money into a debut record, Keep It Safe, that had taken a year to write and nine months to record and mix. Fans and followers began to wonder if that record would ever see the light of day. It was make-or-break time. Wild Ones made. Instead of folding in the face of financial drama, injuries and personnel changes, Wild Ones took a deep breath and adjusted to its new surroundings. This band is used to adjusting. Since its formation in 2010, Wild Ones has insisted on operating as a DIY collective. The band recorded and mixed its debut as a group (with help from engineer David Pollock). Sometimes considering each members’ opinion meant endless revisits and tweaks to the album’s tracks.

The process was time-consuming, but it was also worth it. “That was a reaction to the bands we had been in before,” says lead vocalist Danielle Sullivan. “This band was born out of our desire to have a democratic, all-inclusive music-making process.” Going it alone—even the artwork on Keep It Safe was created by Wild Ones keyboardist Thomas Himes—comes with its fair share of challenges. Most of Wild Ones’ debut was recorded in a two-story East Portland warehouse rehearsal space, where the band was surrounded on all sides by rock acts like Quasi and the Thermals. Wild Ones would get to their practice space around 8 am to record, often grabbing quick takes between thunderous drum solos from down the hall. “Somewhere on the record, if you listen close enough, you can probably hear the metal band next door,” Himes says.

“When we went in that room in March, it was raining,” says Knapp. “When we finished recording in October, it was raining.” Keep It Safe, the album that finally emerged after well over a year of gestation, is bigger than the sum of its meticulously gathered parts. Even now, the band’s sound continues to evolve. Wild Ones’ members come from vastly disparate musical backgrounds—guitarist Nick Vicario was a Portland punk icon long before he turned 18; bassist Max Stein is a classical composer—and all of their experiences inform pop music that is influenced by everything from german techno to American R&B. These are sounds that don’t usually come packaged together, but in the able hands of Wild Ones, they seem like a perfectly natural fit.
 

powered by: companyBE